Dial 2-1-1 to reach our 211 Help Center or visit Get Help
Select language:


Mile High United Way Day on the Hill Has Record Breaking Attendance

Mile High United Way hosted its 6th annual Day on the Hill at the Colorado State Capitol on Tuesday, February 7, 2018. Christine Benero, President and CEO of Mile High United Way kicked off the day welcoming Board members, leaders from other Colorado United Ways, and elected officials; including Governor John Hickenlooper and Rep. Leslie Herod (D-Denver). The annual event happened to coincide with Governor Hickenlooper’s birthday, and our President and CEO did not hesitate to lead the group in an impressive rendition of Happy Birthday.

The Governor welcomed attendees and emphasized the important role nonprofits play in our community, and that we must all work together to create change.

“The nonprofit world is the venture capital of trying to address challenges to society… but, I think making sure that what resources government does have is spent properly and officially, is to a large extent, dependent on how these nonprofits demonstrate what works and what doesn’t,” said Governor John Hickenlooper at the annual Mile High United Way Day on the Hill.

Serving the five metro Denver counties, Mile High United Way partners with hundreds of local nonprofits, government agencies, policy-makers and businesses to create opportunities for our entire community. Mile High United Way has created a coordinated public policy strategy to remove barriers for children, youth, individuals and families. United, we are helping to solve the most complex problems our community faces. During the 2017 legislative session, Mile High United Way worked with our elected leaders, policymakers and partners and supported 15 bills to remove barriers and create pathways to success for all. Of the 15 bills we supported, 10 bills were signed into law. This year we will continue to work on policy efforts to change lives, including supporting HB 1004 to reauthorize the Child Care Contribution Tax Credit and SB 007 to extend the state Low-income Housing Tax Credit.

Following the warm welcome from Christine Benero, Gov. Hickenlooper and Rep. Leslie Herod, the group attended two panel discussions. The first panel, ‘The Housing Crisis in Colorado’ was moderated by Roweena Naidoo, Senior Director of Policy and Economic Success at Mile High United Way with guest panelists Erin Medina, Program Manager of Mile High United Way’s Bridging the Gap program, Michaela a Mile High United Way Bridging the Gap participant, and Sara Reynolds, Executive Director of Housing Colorado. The second policy panel discussion focused on the Child Care Contribution Tax Credit. David Hammond, Mile High United Way Board member and advocate for early childhood education spoke on the panel, as well as Bill Jaeger, Vice President of Early Childhood Initiatives at The Colorado Children’s Campaign. We closed the annual Day on the Hill hearing from Mile High United Way lobbyist Benjamin Waters, Senator Owen Hill and (R-Colorado) and Rep. Brittany Pettersen (D-Lakewood).

It was clear the overarching theme for the day was that there is a seat at the table for everyone; and we can accomplish more when we listen to different points of view, work together, and when we Live United.



Thank you to all of the attendees, and particularly the following elected officials for attending and welcoming us to the Capitol:

Governor John Hickenlooper

Rep Leslie Herod (D-Denver)

Sen Owen Hill (R-Colorado Springs)

Rep Brittany Petersen (D- Lakewood)

Rep Joann Ginal (D-Fort Collins)

Rep Perry Buck (R-Windsor)

Rep Paul Lundeen (R-Colorado Springs)

Rep Tracy Kraft-Tharp (D-Arvada)

Sen Jack Tate (R-Centennial)

Rep Terri Carver (R-Colorado Springs)

Sen Rachel Zenzinger (D-Arvada)

Sen Rhonda Fields (D-Aurora)

Rep Jim Wilson (R-Salida)

Rep Yeulin Willet (R-Grand Junction)

Rep Marc Catlin (R-Montrose)

Sen Matt Jones (D-Louisville)

Sen Tim Neville (R-Littleton)

Rep Dave Young (D-Greeley)

Rep Lois Landgraf (R-Colorado Springs)

Rep Jessie Danielson (D-Wheat Ridge)

Sen Andy Kerr (D-Lakewood)

Sen John Kefalas (D-Fort Collins)

Rep Paul Rosenthal (D-Denver)

Sen Daniel Kagan (D-Cherry Hills Village)

Sen Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City)

Sen Nancy Todd (D-Aurora)

Sen Angela Williams (D-Denver)

Rep Jeni Arndt (D-Fort Collins)

Rep Jeff Bridges (D-Greenwood Village)

Rep James Coleman (D-Denver)

Rep Phil Covarrubias (R-Brighton)

Rep Daneya Esgar (D-Pueblo)

Rep Tony Exum (D-Fountian)

Rep Alec Garnett (D-Denver)

Rep Matt Gray (D-Broomfield)

Sen John Cooke (R-Greeley)

Rep Chris Hansen (D-Denver)

Rep Edie Hooton (D-Boulder)

Rep Chris Kennedy (D-Lakewood)

Rep Kim Ransom (R-Parker)